This site uses cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work, and we'd like to use analytics cookies to keep improving our website. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences. For more information please see our Cookies Page.

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Google Analytics

We use cookies to compile aggregate data about site traffic and site interactions in order to offer better site experiences and tools in the future.

Skip to main content

PCC recognises volunteers and staff for outstanding service at first annual awards event

04 May 2022

Police and Crime Commissioner Donna Jones has recognised and thanked over 20 volunteers, staff and partners from across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight at her first awards event attended by over 200 people.


The Police and Crime Commissioner Awards 2022 recognised the outstanding contribution that volunteers, dedicated staff and partners have made to policing, the criminal justice system and the local community. Volunteers and staff from across the public, private and voluntary sector came together at a special ceremony in Winchester on Friday 29 April 2022 to receive their awards and celebrate the difference they have made to help the lives of others and make communities safer.

The Commissioner was joined by a number of guests who also presented awards, including: Mrs Amelia Ashton JP, Deputy Lieutenant for Hampshire; Chief Constable Olivia Pinkney; Flick Drummond MP; Bob Seely MP and Attorney General for England and Wales Suella Braverman QC MP who also delivered the keynote speech.
Police and Crime Commissioner Donna Jones said, “Volunteers, partners and dedicated staff make a huge and significant difference to policing and in helping to make communities safer. I launched my Police and Crime Commissioner Awards to recognise the enormous contribution they all make, and to say thank you.

“I was thrilled so many winners, nominees and partners were able to join me on the evening and I was delighted that the two previous Police and Crime Commissioners, Simon Hayes and Michael Lane joined me to present two awards named after them to recognise their legacy as Commissioners. I would like also like to thank our partners, the Cyber Hub Trust and Amazon Web Services for sponsoring and supporting the event.

“Congratulations to all of the very worthy winners and a very big thank you for all that you do to help Hampshire and the Isle of Wight be safer places to live, work and visit. You really do make a difference.”

The award winners on the night were:

  • Neighbourhood Policing Team Officer of the Year Award Winner – PCSO Dawn Ayres
  • Tackling Anti-Social Behaviour Award: Winner – Southampton City Engagement and Action Group
  • Victim Service Award: Winner – PC Lindsey Johnson
  • Youth Crime Prevention Award: Winner –  Laura Crassweller
  • Police Recruit of the Year Award: Winner – PC Ollie Lindridge
  • Simon Hayes Award for Outstanding Effort in Reducing Offending & Reoffending: Winner – Craig Hayler
  • Violence Reduction Award: Winner – Basingstoke High Harm Team
  • Rural Crime Fighter Award: Winner – Stuart Hills
  • Business Crime Prevention Excellence Award Winners – Co-op, M&S, Sainsbury’s and Mitie Security Data Sharing Partnership
  • Outstanding Contribution to Criminal Justice Award: Winners – PC Steve Webber and Ashley Whitlock
  • Special Constable of the Year Award Winner – Mike Garside
  • Neighbourhood Watch Volunteer of the Year Award Winner – Christine Rayner
  • CyberHub Trust Cyber Ambassador of the Year Award Winner – Sahar Homary
  • Amazon Web Services Cyber Ambassador School Award Winner – Church Crookham Junior School Cyber Ambassadors
  • Michael Lane Award in memory of James Bowman Winner – Dylan Nelson
  • Commissioned Service Volunteer of the Year Award Winner – Alex Camm from Yellow Door
  • Police Volunteer of the Year Award Winner – The Hampshire Constabulary Duke of Edinburgh Leaders
  • Youth Commission Volunteer of the Year Award Winners – Caitlin Smedley and Elizabeth Bridges
  • Independent Custody Visitor of the Year Award Winner – John Carr
  • Community Volunteer of the Year Award Winner – Gary Weaving


Selected images, including all the award winners can be found here.